WOD.CF 2017.0216

1/4 Barbara…Kinda

5 rounds – 
5 Pull Ups (M-Jumping) – [25]
10 Push Ups – [50]
15 Sit Ups (M-Tuck Crunches) [75]
20 Squats [100]

Time: 23m 45s

Olympic Weightlifting
Split Jerks
5 x 5 @ 65#

Total Workout Time: 35m 10s

Got a late start on my workout.  The toughest thing when trying to do a CrossFit-type workout is coming up with or creating the WOD.  So I took a look at the Barbara workout and thought I’d cut in 1/4.  Apparently, I didn’t do my math correctly.  Barbara is 5 rounds of 20 pull ups, 30 push ups, 40 sit ups and 50 squats, each round to be timed.

I thought I’d also put an Olympic weightlifting element into the workout and focus on the foundational.  I chose to do the Split Jerks because the “1/4 Barbara” did not work the shoulders, and didn’t want to do something that I already exercised.  I thought about doing  deadlifts, but that would have worked my legs after I would have done 100 squats….so, no. What about Cleans?  Same thing, I’d still have to move to a squatting position and push up after cleaning the bar.

The weather was awesome this morning.  Sunny and in the mid to high 70s.  We are expecting another Pacific storm to hit the coast tomorrow, and by evening we should be seeing rain in San Diego.

Leave a Reply

