2017.0321 WOD.KF.CF – Mix of Kung fu and CrossFit

Warm Up

Leg Stretching
10x Iron Crosses

5x Wall Bag Set – Up to #27

2 rounds
10 walking lunges
10 burpees

5 x 3 Push Press at 95#

For over a week, my left knee has been in pain.  It is the same pain I was experiencing last year on my right knee.  The pain in the right knee has gone away due to me stretching my legs and knees…so I’d like to think.  When I stretch my legs, I stretch both equally.  So, why has my knee pain on my right knee gone away but my left knee is now experiencing it?

I know that somehow it’s connected to the arches of my feet, the plantar fascia.  Even though I’m not feeling any pain in my arches, stretching them seem to lessen the pain in my knee.  However, last night I was rubbing the left side of my left knee and the pain was high.  Could it possibly be the IT band? The Iliotibial (ill-lee-oh-tib-bee-ahl) Band?

So I Googled it…..”Iliotibial Band Syndrome is a common knee injury.  The most common symptom is lateral knee pain caused by inflammation of the distal portion of the iliotibial band.  The iliotibial band is a thick band of fascia that crosses the hip join and extends distally to insert on the patella, tibia, and biceps femoris tendon.” (American Family Physician; Razib Khaund, M.D., Brown University School of Medicine; Sharon H. Flynn, M.D., Oregon Medical Group)

So prior to exercising, I did my stretches and focused on stretching that IT band and other muscles connected to it, including my feet.  I’ll let you know if the pain gets worse or better.

Leave a Reply

